loading table of contents...

Chapter 2.2. Main window

After having installed and set up Docmenta as described in Chapter 2.1, Installation, you can log in to the system by opening the URL
    http://<servername>:<port>/docmenta
in your Web-Browser, where <servername> is the domain-name or IP-address of your server and <port> is the port number which was configured during installation (the default port of the bundled Apache Tomcat web-server is 8080).
If the Docmenta server is installed locally, then the servername "localhost" or the IP address "127.0.0.1" can be used to address the local machine. If the web-server is listening on port 80, then the port number can be omitted.
Examples:
http://localhost:8080/docmenta    Use this URL if the web-server is installed locally and is listening on port 8080.
http://myserver/docmenta Use this URL if the web-server is a remote machine with name "myserver" and is listening on port 80.
This will open the following log-in dialog:
screen_login

Figure 2.2.1. Login page

Enter your username and password to log in to the system. After installation the only existing user account is the user "admin" with the password as supplied during the setup procedure. If the login succeeds, you will be redirected to the Docmenta main window.
The main window consists of the head-panel and the workspace-area:
main_win_areas

Figure 2.2.2. Main window


In the head-panel you find the following buttons:
btn_about Click this button to get information about the installed version of the Docmenta application. 
btn_help Click this button to open a separate window with online help on the application.
btn_profile The label of this button includes the login name of the user as which you are currently logged in. Click this button to edit the user profile.
btn_logout Click this button to log off.
Furthermore the head-panel contains the following listboxes for selecting the product version and the language to be opened:
list_select_product The product listbox lists all products for which the user has at least the access right to view the content. Selecting a product from the list will open the latest version of this product and show the contents in the workspace. When a user logs in, the last selected product will automatically be opened again.  
list_select_version The version listbox lists all existing versions of the currently opened product. Selecting a version from the list will open this version of the currently opened product. 
list_select_language
The language listbox lists all languages which have been configured for this product. After opening a version of a product, the language which was defined as the "original" language for this product is selected by default. When one of the tranlation languages is selected from the list, then the application will switch into the translation mode for this language. When the original language is selected from the list, then the application will leave the translation mode and switch back into the "original" mode.
In the translation mode, the user can replace the original content nodes (text, images) by the translated content. As long as no translation exists for a node, the original node will be displayed.  As soon as the user has edited and saved a node in the translation mode, a translated node exists which will then be used instead of the original node during all operations. When the user switches back to the original mode, then only the original nodes will be available again. 
Depending on the user's access rights, one or more of the following workspaces are available in the workspace area of the main window:
tabs_workspaces

Figure 2.2.3. Workspace tabs

You can switch to one of these workspaces by selecting the appropriate tab. Following a description of each of the available workspaces:
WorkspaceDescription
Content In the content workspace the user can view and edit the content elements of the selected product version. See Chapter 2.3, Content workspace.
Styles In the styles workspace the user can view, edit and create user-defined styles. Creating and editing styles allows the user to define and customize the formatting of the different types of content elements. See Chapter 2.4, Styles workspace.
Versioning In the versioning workspace, the user can create a new version of the product. A new version is basically a copy of an existing product version. This allows the user to preserve a snapshop of the product documentation at a specifc point in time and label it with a version number. See Chapter 2.5, Versioning workspace.
Publishing In the publishing workspace the user can configure publications, output options and filter settings (applicabilities). Furthermore the user can start a publication export for a selected publication with a selected output configuration. See Chapter 2.6, Publishing workspace.
Administration In the administration workspace, the user can create and manage products, users, user groups and character entities. Furthermore the administration workspace allows the user to configure the global application settings. See Chapter 2.7, Administration workspace.