loading table of contents...

2.3.5. Translating nodes

You can switch from original-mode into translation-mode by selecting a translation language from the language listbox at the top of the main window:
screen_language_listbox

Figure 2.3.32. Language selection list

In translation-mode you can edit the content the same way as in the original-mode. As long as a node has no translation, the original node will be shown. The first time you edit an original-node in translation-mode, Docmenta will automatically store a translated version of the node without touching the original-node. This way, the translation-mode allows you to translate the original content node by node.
Whether an original node has already a translation or not is indicated by the "Language" column of the product-tree. The "Language" column is only visible in translation mode. This column shows either the language code of the original language (if no translation exists), or the language code of the translation language (if a translation exists).
screen_translated_nodes

Figure 2.3.33. The language column in translation-mode

Note: In translation-mode you can only create a translation of an original node, but you cannot create a new node which does not exist in the original-mode.
See below for a more detailed description of how to translate different types of nodes:
Translating content- and section-nodes
When a content- or section-node is edited in translation-mode, then a translated version of the node is stored beside the original node. The translated node has its own title, workflow status and progress value. Nevertheless, the translated node always has the same alias name and applicability expression as the original node.
Translating image-files
In translation mode it is allowed to upload a translated version of an image. The translated image must have the same filename as the original image, but optionally with [XX] appended to the filename, where XX is the two-letter language code. If the filename does not end with [XX] then the system will automatically add it. For example, assume you have created a German translation of the image "diagram.gif" and you stored the translated image with the same filename "diagram.gif". When you then upload the translated file in translation mode (for language "DE"), the translated image will automatically be stored with filename "diagram[DE].gif". This way you can easily identify which images have already been translated. Alternatively you could manually rename the translated file to "diagram[DE].gif" before you upload it.
Translating data-files
In translation mode it is allowed to upload a translated version of a file. The principle is the same as for image files, i.e. the translated file must have the same filename as the original file, but optionally with [XX] appended to the filename, where XX is the two-letter language code. If the filename does not end with [XX] then the system will automatically add it. For example, assume you have created a German translation of the file "specification.doc" and you stored the translated file with the same filename "specification.doc". When you then upload the translated file in translation mode (for language "DE"), the translated file will automatically be stored with filename "specification[DE].doc". This way you can easily identify which files have a translation and which do not. Alternatively you could manually rename the translated file to "specification[DE].doc" before you upload it.